Broderie Anglaise Summer Top

Broderie Anglaise is very trendy this summer. And it is for a reason. You can create a youthful look for any age. It is comfortable to cut, to sew and to wear. And, last but not least, it is a fabric which belongs to this boho-romantic kind of chic almost everybody loves to wear, and definitely everybody looks good wearing it. So! Why not give it a go? I decided to give it a go.

My choice of the fabric was inspired by a make by Andrea who runs the Beyond the Pink Door fabrics online shop. I follow her on Instagram and Youtube and I learn a lot from her. Of course I like to buy and sew from the fabrics she sells, the quality is really good and the selection is just gorgeous! And it feels so lovely to wear! Let´s have look at my Broderie Anglaise purchased there:

My choice was Rosie Eyelet Broderie Anglais Cotton in white colour. There is no more of this particular type in the shop at the moment, but no worries. Now Andrea has such a stunning selection of Broderie Anglaise fabrics and in different colours. I would buy more…

As I have said before, it is so easy to work with! The pattern helps you cut out your parts evenly and there are hardly any chances to make a mistake. It is also so easy to sew on the machine too. So my make was a fast track:

As you can see, it is evenly executed thanks to the embroidered pattern of the fabric. It was so helpful for me, just comfortable to work with! In the pictures above you can see some purple spots of the marker I use to draw. That is not a problem, it comes off with time, and if you are in a hurry, you just do the washing and it comes off rapidly.

The Pattern Selection

LOL, in my case it is not difficult to guess. I sew mostly using Burda Style patterns simply because they are available for me. Burda is not extremely expensive, in fact it is quite a frugal way of having patterns. In one issue you get about 15 different patterns for garments, who would like more. The German issues which I buy are well edited and I like to work with them. Unfortunately my German is not enough, but… as with everything I am challenging myself and it works better or worse. I also watch English tutorials on Youtube whenever I have doubts, like with sewing shirt cuffs with buttons or a placket.

The pattern for this blouse was a double pattern for a dress and a blouse in Burda Style, the February issue 2021, Nº 114. It is how it came out:

Nice and easy, isn´t it? I got nice comments for it on my Instagram account, so it definitely made my day when I showed the make 🙂 

Published by Jo

Hi there, I am rediscovering sewing and enjoying making my wardrobe, working with beautiful fabrics and personalized patterns. This is my personal sewing blog where I post what I have made. I hope to connect with other sewers :)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started